Hearing the Gods in the quiet (or, holy fuck, is THIS what it’s like to be normal? + upcoming #mypolytheism stuff)

Classes started earlier this September, so I’ve been caught up in something I’ve never been caught up in before: a calm, manageable life.

I’m a Master’s student in my second year of theology – doing a master’s thesis and grad school applications, no less. I’ve got a job, I’m battling mental illness (depression and anxiety, although I am grateful to say that a balance of medication and therapy is working wonders for me), and I’ve got my share of trials and tribulations. However, I changed a lot of things in my life, which in turn changed just one thing in my life: being kind to, and understanding with, myself. And that has made ALL the difference.

College stress culture is unreal (especially in graduate school). There is an expectation, a standard, of exhaustion. We’re judged by how exhausted we are; the measure of our hard work is calculated with the hours of sleeplessness, the amount of stress and sickness that burdens us. And we wear these things like badges, brandish them in competitions: “You think staying up for two nights is crazy? I remember I once spent 80 hours awake and I didn’t even stop to take a shit!” Last year was debilitating for me because I was still in this mindset; taking on too many things at once, and not resting (or seeking professional help), I went through very dangerous stages of burn-out, exhaustion, and lifelessness that almost cost me my life. Twice.

So it is beautifully strange to sit in my room and be able to BREATHE – to be quiet, to be at peace, to have control over my workload and not be overwhelmed by it. I have been so used to the tumult and chaos of my life that, in this quiet calm, I struggle to hear the Voices of my Gods (although I have a feeling this is the clearest I’ve ever heard Them!). I space out my assignments over several days, always taking time to do three things: to have at least two or three hours of down-time a day, to sleep a full nine hours every night, and to do all of my work at the university instead of in my room. I’m setting habits, getting into a routine, and getting shit done. And it feels fucking amazing – hell, it feels unreal. I am still fighting the impulses of my brain interpreting peace and quiet as a warning sign that something has to be done, but I’m getting there.

I’m being kind to myself, too. Sometimes I’m working at 1000%. My brain is clear and I’m ready to work. And sometimes I wake up and I’m functioning at 70%, where my words get stuck, or it just takes me a little longer to get something done, or my brain just doesn’t process very quickly. Instead of punishing myself, I remind myself that I am not a machine that has to work at 1000% efficiency always – I schedule the amount of work I CAN do and, whatever I cannot do, I save it for tomorrow. Challenging myself doesn’t mean that I have to whip myself to work – it means understanding my limits and discerning whether I should push it just a little bit or not at all.

This has fucking changed my life. Thanks be to the Gods, who brought me here and made me finally understand this. An especial thanks to Loki, who burned everything that was in my way… including myself.

So this is why I’ve been quiet. I’ve been adjusting to the rhythm, learning how to work with myself instead of against myself. I’m recalibrating my godphone, so to speak, and I can already feel that the bonds with my Gods (particularly Cernunnos and Loki) will be changing and deepening immensely. For Them I am eternally grateful, and I am happy that I am having this time of peace and productivity as I get to where I need to me.

In the coming days I’m going to try something new and scary: doing video logs of topics (such as #mypolytheism!) and uploading them on Youtube. I think I am much more eloquent and refined on paper but, hell, ya don’t know till ya try. With the #mypolytheism submission, I’ve found that all of the components of #mypolytheism (from my interpretation) are too much for one blog post. Ergo the philosophy of spacing them out!

Basically, I don’t know what’s going on, but I’m excited. I’m really, really excited.

Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Hearing the Gods in the quiet (or, holy fuck, is THIS what it’s like to be normal? + upcoming #mypolytheism stuff)”

  1. A grad student once came to me for advice. His adviser had told him “you don’t act/look worried. You must not be concerned with your futurel.” I had been told something similar years before. Bendición

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ay yai yai. So if we’re not pulling our hair out, struggling with a drinking/drug problem, or living in a state of severe anxiety, we don’t care about our futures? Looking back I can’t understand why people think that way. Even the professors at my academy are deeply concerned with the mental health of their students and make sure to repeat that feeling overwhelmed, stressed, and sleepy should not be a sign of productivity or a measure of how much you do or don’t care.

      I know that you helped him. Bendiciones, hermano. Cuidate!

      Like

  2. (It’s Virginia Carper – Neptune’s Dolphins is my polytheist blog.)

    Having a brain injury has taught me a lot. One is that your brain and body have their cycles. Move with the cycles and you will be productive and happy. Two, there are seasons to both, and knowledge of your seasons is helpful. Three in the work world, it’s the same driven people.

    Routines give you wings to fly and to explore. You settle into a routine, and move automatically from thing to thing. With spaces in between to think and do.

    Last thing – from Fats Domino: “What’s you’re going to do when the well runs dry?” Remember that when people brag about no sleep, etc. What are they going to do when they have no more reserves?

    Like

Leave a Reply

